Healing Scab on a Child's KneeHow poor are they who have not patience! What wound did ever heal but by degrees. –William Shakespeare (1564 – 1616)

This past fall I was visiting some friends after a long summer apart. As I was crossing the parking lot, I was too impatient to walk and decided it better to run, in my pretty black high heels. Before I knew it, I was tumbling down, staring  at my pretty red scraped knee. 

Considering I had brought mostly skirts and dresses to wear in the California sun, I was disheartened by the hideous red scab that formed. Of course, band-aids were just as unappealing. No matter how much I willed it away, how much I wished it to heal, I looked down and there it was.  I was forced to bear the evidence of my fall.

Eventually, it faded away. I don’t know when or what day exactly, but somewhere in time it healed. Of course, I noticed it here and there, but one day I just looked down, and the scrape was gone. 

I try to remember that wounds take time to heal. No matter how much I will them to disappear or stop hurting, only time holds the true cure.  And no type of band-aid is a satisfying solution. But I do take solace in knowing that if I just grasp a little patience, one day I’ll look down and the scrape will be gone.

